Using Dynamixel prices out like 90% of your potential userbase

Hello,

I’m not a mechanical engineer. I’m a coder studying deep reinforcement learning.
Anyways, because reachy uses dynamixel, it’s prohibitively expensive.
If you guys could use some medium size brushless motors and ODrive’s,
you would probably get more people building reachy/ sections of reachy.

It really sucks when some tech project’s / toys are 1000+ dollars to build.
That prices out 99.9% of your potential userbase. Especially students.

If you drop the dynamixels you could cut the price in half.

Thanks for listening to my rant,
Gibson Martin

2 Likes

Hi,

Thanks for raising this legitimate concern and offering the opportunity for me to explain our position on this aspect.

We understand the frustration for everyone wanting to get their hand on a cool robot when the price goes far beyond the hobbyist budget. We’ve already experienced that with our previous humanoid project Poppy which was using 25 Dynamixels.

Maybe we will drop Dynamixels in the future but to be honest, it is not the problem.
Given the current state of robotics technologies, it is just not possible to offer more than a toy for less than $1000.

Personally I expect the “consumer humanoid robot market” to converge toward a cost between a high-end computer and a small car, simply because a robot involve complex hardware.
Inside, you will have at least a powerful computer, batteries, cameras, plenty of high performance motors, dozen of electronics boards, thousand of mechanical parts and so on… It is just not possible to get all of this for less than we pay our personal computer. At least if you want to respect workers building it and our environment in the process.